The Blessings of a Long Commute

One of the things I love about living in the country is that my 39 mile (one-way) commute to work takes me through a wonderful variety of beautiful scenery.

For part of the journey, I go back in time through small town America. Then I’m out on the wide open plains with pronghorn and cattle, and farm buildings abandoned long ago. Before long I smell the pine as I ride through the shadows in Black Forest. Then the sounds of the city greet me as I emerge from the canopy of trees and I pull into my work place.

My favorite part is always the beginning and end as I ride through these open lands with very little traffic.

Any stress just flies away.

And then I get to wake up and do it again the next day…

Beautiful open roads

Beautiful open roads

Note the passenger train car in the background

Note the passenger train car in the background

Loved the textures in this old door

Loved the textures in this old door

Small town America!

Small town America!

Riding here is pure therapy

One of my favorite signs - smiles are ahead!

One of my favorite signs – smiles are ahead!

MV

5 thoughts on “The Blessings of a Long Commute

Leave a Reply

