Our 1st MotoDate

A little while back, my beautiful wife took her first ride with me on Stallion! Before you dismiss this as a routine rite-of-passage, I have to assure you that in my case, this was definitely a special occasion!

You see, we have three kids, and my beautiful, risk-adverse wife doesn’t want them ending up as orphans should something happen to us both. She is a little leery of motorcycles, and has loving care and concern over my safety when riding. So, I have made it a point to try and not pressure her about getting on the motorcycle.

Well, I think my blabbing on about the freedom and peace I get when riding influenced her to try it for herself. Then again, maybe’s it just because she’s so awesome and loves me a lot? Either way…I’m a lucky fella!

Because I am all about wearing ATGATT (All The Gear, All The Time), we needed to budget in buying her some good quality stuff. After a couple of months, and a couple of trips to the awesome Performance Cycle in Denver, she found some great deals on a helmet, pants, gloves, and jacket (couldn’t find the right boots)!

About a week or two after purchasing it all, she told me one morning, “We need to return some books that are due at the library…want to take the motorcycle?”

She didn’t have to ask me twice. 🙂

Getting ready to leave…
MLRide-01

Ready to go!
MLRide-02

I gave her a few riding lessons in an empty parking lot. She did really well!
MLRide-03

Back on Stallion again and ready to head home
MLRide-04

It was a great first MotoDate of (hopefully) many more to come!

MV

11 thoughts on “Our 1st MotoDate

  1. curvyroads says:

    This is so awesome! I am so fortunate in that my husband and I learned to ride at the same time, almost 20 years ago, and it is our passion now, so I take this kind of thing for granted. But I know so many riders who would LOVE for their spouse to be even a little interested, so this is wonderful stuff! And nice to meet you Michael, I am Lynne. Look forward to keeping blog touch more!

    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • motoventures says:

      Thanks for the introduction Lynne – it’s wonderful to meet you as well! I told my wife (and parents) that I want to be like you and your husband when I grow up! Touring America with the love of my life sounds perfect, and a mix of motorcycles and an RV would probably be the perfect blend for her as well! Safe travels to you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • curvyroads says:

        Thank you…we are certainly living the dream we have had for years…we were c worried about the RV part, and honestly, we haven’t met many people we clicked with yet, but the combo has worked out great for us. I hope you reach your dream as well!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Vishnu N S says:

    That’s beautiful! 🙂 my lady rides her own cbr250 but she’s still very much a learning rider. I’d love to get my lady to attend a MSF course sooner than later (she got her endorsement a couple of years ago)

    Did someone help take pictures for you? Just curious to know if you used a tripod . Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • motoventures says:

      Thank you Vishnu! That is wonderful that your lady rides. Mine is thinking about taking the MSF course in the next year or two.

      My daughter took these pictures, so that definitely helped! With that said, I highly recommend a “Joby Gorillapod” for a moto tripod. They are so handy and I always have one with me on my rides!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

